Planning Commission/ Zoning Board of Appeals
This Commission serves as the planning agency and zoning authority of the Village. They prepare, maintain, review, and update the Village comprehensive plan and make recommendations on proposed developments to the Village Board. Additionally, the Plan Commission serves as the Zoning Board of Appeals.

The Plan Commission monitors developments and planning trends and makes recommendations to the Village Board for policy and legislation. The appointed Commission consists of seven part-time members; namely a chairman and six board members. The current goal of the Plan Commission is to continue to provide the Village Board with recommendations on various planning associated issues that come before the Plan Commission on a regular basis.

The objectives of the Plan Commission are:
  • to provide planning and zoning administration throughout the Village and the extraterritorial one and a half mile area encompassing the Village
  • to monitor trends in development, planning and zoning
  • and to assist the Village Board by reviewing in depth development requests.
The Zoning Board of Appeals has the primary responsibility to hear and decide appeals in which it is alleged that there is error in interpretation or application of the Zoning Ordinance; hear and decide applications for variances from the terms of the Zoning Ordinance, or in some instances hear and make recommendations to the Village Board on variance requests; and review and make recommendations to the Village Board on temporary use requests.
Chair, Mark Muehlnickel Commissioner Matthew Blackburn
Commissioner Andrew Hawkins
Commissioner Theresa Berkey
Commissioner Rebecca Dalseth
Commissioner Robert Moss
Commissioner Terry Schultz


Meeting Schedule

  • First and third Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m., 1 Veterans Pkwy



      Contact Us
      Village of New Lenox
      1 Veterans Parkway
      New Lenox, Illinois 60451
      Phone: (815) 462-6400
      Village Hall Hours:
      Monday - Friday 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
      Home of Proud Americans